American Institutes for Research in the Behavioral Sciences
UEI MCN6J5L6M3T4 CAGE 9B514 Active Arlington, VA
Other Than Small Business · Data through September 2, 2026
Obligations by fiscal year
| Fiscal year | Obligations |
|---|---|
| FY2026 (partial year) | $88.8M |
| FY2025 | $52.2M |
| FY2024 | $173.5M |
| FY2023 | $164.5M |
| FY2022 | $138.2M |
| FY2021 | $82.2M |
Agencies, NAICS, and PSC codes
| Agency | Obligations | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Department of Education | $303.0M | 43.3% |
| Department of Health and Human Services | $276.2M | 39.5% |
| Agency for International Development | $43.8M | 6.3% |
| General Services Administration | $35.1M | 5% |
| Department of Labor | $23.2M | 3.3% |
| PSC code | Obligations | Share |
|---|---|---|
| R499 — Support- Professional: Other | $341.5M | 48.8% |
| AN42 — Health R&D Services; Health Care - Other; Applied Research | $81.7M | 11.7% |
| AF11 — Education, Training, Employment, & Social Svcs R&D Svcs; Education Svcs R&D; Basic Research | $50.8M | 7.3% |
| R410 — Support- Professional: Program Evaluation/review/development | $39.2M | 5.6% |
| B542 — Special Studies/analysis- Educational | $34.7M | 5% |
Contract type and set-aside mix
| Contract pricing type | Obligations | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Firm Fixed Price | $274.4M | 39.2% |
| Cost Plus Fixed Fee | $268.8M | 38.4% |
| Time and Materials | $147.7M | 21.1% |
| Fixed Price Level of Effort | $9.0M | 1.3% |
| Order Dependent (idv Allows Pricing Arrangement to Be Determined Separately for Each Order) | -$50K | 0% |
| Cost Plus Award Fee | -$114K | 0% |
| Labor Hours | -$250K | 0% |
| Set-aside type | Obligations | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Not Specified | $495.2M | 70.8% |
| No Set Aside Used. | $204.6M | 29.3% |
| Small Business Set Aside - Total | -$244K | 0% |
Place of performance by state
| State | Obligations | Share |
|---|---|---|
| VA | $295.8M | 42.3% |
| DC | $286.5M | 41% |
| MD | $82.5M | 11.8% |
| Not specified | $15.1M | 2.2% |
| NJ | $8.6M | 1.2% |
| GA | $5.7M | 0.8% |
| NY | $2.5M | 0.4% |
| IL | $2.0M | 0.3% |
| CA | $732K | 0.1% |
| NC | $62K | 0% |
Largest contract actions on file
| Award | Agency | Period of performance | Obligation | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75FCMC23F0005 · NAICS 541611 | Department of Health and Human Services | January 5, 2023 – January 16, 2026 | $15.2M | View on USAspending |
| 75FCMC23F0005 · NAICS 541611 | Department of Health and Human Services | January 5, 2023 – January 16, 2025 | $13.5M | View on USAspending |
| 91990023F0350 · NAICS 541720 | Department of Education | September 1, 2023 – February 28, 2025 | $12.9M | View on USAspending |
| 47QFPA24F0038 · NAICS 541211 | General Services Administration | September 30, 2024 – September 29, 2025 | $12.4M | View on USAspending |
| 7200AA23F00015 · NAICS 541990 | Agency for International Development | September 27, 2023 – April 30, 2026 | $11.8M | View on USAspending |
| 0004 · NAICS 541720 | Department of Education | December 15, 2011 – November 30, 2021 | $11.7M | View on USAspending |
| 75R60224F34001 · NAICS 541611 | Department of Health and Human Services | September 9, 2024 – September 8, 2026 | $11.0M | View on USAspending |
| 75FCMC23F0005 · NAICS 541611 | Department of Health and Human Services | January 5, 2023 – January 16, 2026 | $10.4M | View on USAspending |
| 91990024F0083 · NAICS 541611 | Department of Education | September 27, 2024 – September 26, 2029 | $9.8M | View on USAspending |
| 47QFPA24F0038 · NAICS 541211 | General Services Administration | September 30, 2024 – December 15, 2025 | $9.6M | View on USAspending |
Similar contractors
- Mathematica INC. — $905.1M, Princeton, NJ
- The Lewin Group, INC. — $371.8M, Falls Church, VA
- National Opinion Research Center — $1.05B, Chicago, IL
- The Rand CORPORATION — $1.34B, Santa Monica, CA
- Westat, INC. — $1.89B, Rockville, MD
What the numbers show
No transaction in this record used a small-business set-aside; all obligations were awarded with no set-aside or an unspecified type.
Obligations decreased from $173.5M in FY2024 to $52.2M in FY2025, the last closed fiscal year.
Source: USAspending.gov, U.S. Department of the Treasury. Contract transactions FY2021–FY2026, downloaded 2026-09-18. Figures are net obligations and can include de-obligations. Department of Defense data is published with a 90-day delay. View this contractor's largest contract on USAspending.gov.
To request removal of this profile, use the contact form and select "Removal request." Requests are processed within 30 days.